2023 winners with mentors and representatives of Pioneer Association and Knights of St. Columbanus, who kindly supported the competition.

After a break of many years, and with the support of St. Grellan’s (Ballinasloe & District) Council of The Knights of St. Columbanus, and Ballinasloe-Creagh parish, we are re-introducing the Pioneer Clonfert Diocesan Schools & Youth Club Quiz Competitions.

The Emerald Ballroom, Fairgreen, Ballinasloe. H53 KC98.
Thursday 21st March, 8 – 9.15 pm.

Competition A:
Team of three or four pupils representing their primary school.
(Rounds 1 to 8, ten questions per round).

Competition B:
Team of three or four young people representing their club (any club open to young people, e.g. GAA, Pioneer, Foroige etc) aged 14 or younger on 31st December 2024.
(Rounds 1 to 8, ten questions per round).

Where a school has an enrolment of more than two hundred pupils a second team can be entered.
Clubs may be represented by more than one team.
All teams must be accompanied by their adult mentor or relevant designated person.

In addition to trophies for teams that come First, Second and Third, medals will also be presented to the remaining teams that come First, Second and Third from each of the diocese’s Faith Community Areas (Ballinasloe, Portumna and Loughrea).

This will follow the quiz and include a short presentation from our guest presenter(s). Names to be added to this page once confirmed.

Adult Mentors / Teachers and teams are likely to find the quiz that can be downloaded here helpful.

The organisers have also engaged a photographer. Only teams whose mentors have ticked the relevant box on application form will be photographed.

Traditionally Pioneer quizzes contained a few questions about the Pioneer Association. Teams are likely to find the Fact Sheet that can be downloaded here helpful.

Please contact Niall on 087 6744886 or Justin on 087 6171526.

PTAA Clonfert Diocesan Council with support of friends in GAA and Youth Club circles and among Principals / Teachers in Clonfert Diocesan Primary Schools network.
See: for details.